Ford F-250 Generations
  • Generations

Ford F-250 Generations

By Autolist Editorial | June 26, 2019

Ford’s F-250 is part of the brand's Super Duty lineup of heavy-duty models. It's a more robust and capable cousin of Ford's venerable F-150 truck and features unique styling. It's usually available with either a gas or diesel engine in a wide variety of cab and bed configurations. There are also F-350 through F-650 iterations.

2017 - Present Ford F-250 (4th Generation)


The big news for this generation was Ford's use of aluminum for the body of the Super Duty models much like the F-150; Ford continued to make the frame out of steel. This lighter body helped the F-250 shed almost 750 pounds.

The 6.2-liter gas V8 engine and the 6.7 diesel V8 engine carried over from the previous generation though each was retuned for slightly more torque. The F-250 also picked up a new six-speed automatic transmission.

Safety features were improved and added for 2018. These include adaptive cruise control and a pre-collision assistance system with pedestrian detection ability.

Trim levels include the base XL, XLT, Lariat, King Ranch and Platinum. The Limited trim joined the lineup for 2018.

All models come in 4x2 and 4x4 versions.

View 4th Generation Listings

2011 - 2016 Ford F-250 (3rd Generation)

16 SUPD KR 450 MonotoneTowing mj

This model was introduced for 2011 and featured even bolder and prominent exterior designs and included a new optional locking differential.

A new 6.2-liter V8 gas engine made 385 horsepower and 405 pound-feet of torque; the V10 option was dropped for F-250 models in this generation.

A new 6.7-liter Powerstroke diesel V8 initially had 390 horsepower and 735 pound-feet of torque though Ford quickly upgraded it to 400 horsepower and 800 pound-feet of torque to stay competitive with rivals.

In 2015, it upgraded the PowerStroke diesel yet again to 440 horsepower and 860 pound-feet of torque.

The manual transmission was dropped and a six-speed automatic was standard on all models.

View 3rd Generation Listings

2008 - 2010 Ford F-250 (2nd Generation)


The second-generation of F-250 came out in 2008. It featured more rugged and bold styling and came in a variety of trim levels: XL, XLT, Lariat, Cabela's, King Ranch and Harley Davidson (this last model was a new limited-edition model for the Super Duty series).

The 5.4-liter V8 and the 6.8-liter V10 engines carried over from the previous generation while a new 6.4-liter diesel V8 was added that made 350 horsepower and 650 pound-feet of torque.

A five-speed automatic or six-speed manual transmission was offered.

View 2nd Generation Listings

1999 - 2007 Ford F-250 (1st Generation)


In 1998 -- for the 1999 model year -- Ford rolled the heavy-duty models into the Super Duty family; the F-250 would remain under this subbrand until present day.

The Super Duty models were highlighted by upgraded chassis and suspension components that gave them a higher payload and towing.

The engines available ranged from a 255-horsepower 5.4-liter V8 to an optional 310-horsepower 6.8-liter V10 with either a six-speed manual or a five-speed automatic transmission. There were three cab options: Standard two-door, a Super Cab with two small reverse-opening rear doors, and a Crew Cab with four full-sized doors and seating for up to six people.

In 2005, Ford gave its Super Duty trucks an update that included new interior and exterior designs, larger brakes, larger wheels (to fit the brakes) and an increase in horsepower (to 300 from 255 on the V8 and to 362 from 310 on the V10) and alternator strength.

View 1st Generation Listings

1992-1997 Ford F-Series (9th Generation)


In 1992 the hoodline was lowered and the front fenders and grille rounded even more in that never-ending quest for improved aerodynamics. Once again, the interior was redesigned as well. In 1996 engine options included a 4.9-liter I6, as well as 5.0- and 5.8-liter V8s, as well as a 7.5-liter big-block V8 and a 7.3-liter Powerstroke V8 turbo diesel. The F-250 HD, had significant differences from the standard F-250. These included a heavier rear axle and heavier springs and shocks.

1987 - 1991 Ford F-Series (8th Generation)


For the 1987 model year, further aerodynamic improvements were made, and an interior makeover took place as well. Supercab models were offered with four- and five-speed manual transmissions and the regular cab models were automatic. 1988 brought electronic fuel injection to the 4.9-liter inline-six engine as well as to the 5.8- and 7.5-liter V8s

1980-1986 Ford F-Series (7th Generation)


No changes specific to the F-250 were introduced in this generation, but the F-Series had a complete redesign from the chassis on up. Aerodynamics was the primary focus of exterior restyling. The 5.8 Liter 351M and 6.6-Liter 400 M-Series V8 engines were replaced with 4.2-Liter and 5.8-Liter Windsor engines from the Panther platform in 1981. In 1982 and 1983, the the base engine was a 3.8-Liter Essex V6. Ford finally added a 6.9-liter diesel powr to the F-Series. Electronic fuel injection made its debut in 1985 on the 5.0-liter V8.

In 1982 the Ford “Blue Oval” made its first appearance front and center on the truck’s front grille. Amenities like power door locks, mirrors and windows also first showed up in this generation of the F-Series.

1973 - 1979 Ford F-Series (6th Generation)

shutterstock 294993470

This generation saw the addition of front disc brakes and a gas tank that was relocated outside of the cab to lie beneath the bed. Heating and AC were improved and more of this model was crafted from galvanized steel. In 1976 the FE engine series was retired and replaced with 351 and 400 series engines. 1979 was the final year for the 460 big block engine.

1967-1972 Ford F-Series (5th Generation)


The F-Series continued to be built on the same platform, and all 1969 F-Series models had 100 percent interchangeable suspension components.

1961 - 1966 Ford F-Series (4th Generation)


1961 brought the unpopular longer, lower unibody design style, which disappeared in 1964. This generation of the F-Series introduced a front suspension style called “Twin I-Beam” which the F-250 used until 2016.

1957-1960 Ford F-Series (3rd Generation)


While there were no changes specific to the F-250, this generation brought a few F-Series changes such as front fenders being integrated with the body and a new bed design made for smoother lines.

1953-1956 Ford F-Series (2nd Generation)


The 1953 model year saw the emergence of the F-250 as its predecessors, known as the F-2 and F-3, were phased out. While the major body parts did not change, there was a redesign of the cab and dashboard, but most significantly, the rear window – which was offered with a panoramic option.

1948 - 1952 Ford F-Series (1st Generation)


The F-Series originated as the “Bonus-Built” in 1948 with eight different weight ratings and body styles that included cab-over-engine (COE), conventional truck, panel truck, pickup and school bus chassis.